BRIMM Board of Directors

BRIMM Board of Director Members Biographies

Meigan Aronson, Faculty of Science, UBC

Dean of UBC’s Faculty of Science as of September 1, 2018. Prior to her arrival at UBC, she served as Professor of Physics and Dean of the College of Science at Texas A&M University, where she held appointments in the departments of Physics and Astronomy, and Materials Science and Engineering.

Nicholas Barlow, Independent Mining Executive

Independent Mining Executive with over 35 years experience in the mining industry. He previously served as the Executive Head of Technical for both Anglo American Bulk Commodities and other Minerals (2016-2020) and Anglo American Coal (2014-2016).

Peter Bradshaw, BRIMM Founder

BRIMM Founder with over 40 years of experience in the mineral extraction sector as a mine-finder, company builder, and an advocate of collaborative research and building relationships with local and indigenous people. He was also one of the original founders of the Mineral Deposit Research Unit (MDRU) at UBC.

Bill Burton, Vice President, Geological/Geotechnical Engineering at BGC Engineering Inc.

Current Vice President of Geological and Geotechnical Engineering at BGC Engineering Inc with over 25 years of experience on resource development projects at BGC Engineering. His experience in mineral development covers the cycle of discovery, design, construction, operations, and transitions to post-development landscape.

Gregory Dipple, Department of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences, UBC

Professor in UBC’s Department of Earth, Ocean and Atmospheric Sciences and previous BRIMM Director (2017-2020). His current research is focused on carbon sequestration using mine tailings. This project is in collaboration with the De Beers Group, FPX Nickel, and Clean Growth funding from the Canadian government.

Jo-Anne Dudley, Chief Operating Officer at Turquoise Hill Resources

COO at Turquoise Hill Resources (Rio Tinto is TRQ’s Project Manager) with over 25 years experience in UG metalliferous mining currently focused on the development of the Oyu Tolgoi project and operations of Turquoise Hill Resources. Her specialties cover both open pit and caving operations.

Paul Mitchell, Global Mining & Metals Sector Leader at Ernst & Young

Global Mining & Metals Sector Leader for EY and previous head of Markets for the Asia Pacific Advisory Practice and Oceania Financial Services Advisory. He brings over 30 years of experience in providing advisory services with focuses development of corporate, operational and digital strategies.

James Olson, Faculty of Applied Science, UBC

Dean of UBC’s Faculty of Applied Science as of February 2018 and professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at UBC. He was previously the Associate Dean of Research and Industry Partnerships. His research focuses are fluid mechanics, machine design and material science as applied to the forest bio-products industry.

Kal Ruberg, VP Futures & Chief Innovation Officer at Teck Resources Ltd

Current VP Futures & Chief Innovation Officer at Teck Resources Ltd with over 45-years experience in information systems. He has been a member of the Teck Resources Ltd team since 2006, where he has overseen the overall digital systems, services, and projects for the company.

John Steen, BRIMM Director

BRIMM Director since July, 2020, EY Distinguished Scholar in Global Mining Futures, and Associate Professor within the Norman B. Keevil Institute of Mining Engineering. He is skilled in developing collaborative research with industry and has 15 years of experience in managing industry research and commercialization partnerships.

John Thompson, Consultant at PetraScience Inc.

Consultant at PetraScience Inc. and first MDRU director (1991-1998). He has over 30 years experience in the mining sector and served as Teck’s Chief Geoscientist from 1998-2005 and their VP Technology and Development from 2005-2012.